

SEVENTEEN SURGICAL TECHNOLOGIST STUDENTS RECEIVED THE 2025 NBSTSA STUDENT ACADEMIC AWARD

LITTLETON, CO (July 2, 2025) – The **National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting** (**NBSTSA**) announced the recipients of the **2025 NBSTSA Student Academic Merit Award**. This award reflects NBSTSA's mission to support educational pursuits in the profession and is given based on a student's dedication, and commitment to academic and personal excellence.

"We receive many outstanding applicants, and the NBSTSA is pleased to support these students in their educational and professional journey," said NBTSA CEO Robin Y. Jenkins, CAE, ICE-CCP. "Each one of our scholarship awardees studies at an accredited institution and represent the next generation of qualified surgical technologists. We look forward to welcoming them into our community when they earn their certification of surgical technologists (CST[®]) and providing them with resources to stay current on industry advancements."

Each year, Student Academic Merit Awards are given by NBSTSA. The 2025 awards include one \$3,000 scholarship, in memory of Dalton Gay, a student and athlete from North Carolina; one \$2,000 award, based on essays and grades; and fifteen \$1,000 awards based on academic dedication, commitment to quality surgical patient care, and enhancing public safety. Shakirah Muhammed of Cabarrus College of Health Sciences in Concord, NC received the \$3,000 Dalton Gay Scholarship, awarded to students who demonstrate a passion and dedication to education and service. Divina Leal of South College in Indianapolis, IN received the \$2,000 Student Academic Merit scholarship.

In addition, the following students were awarded \$1,000 scholarships:

- Jessica Rivera, San Manuel Gateway College Loma Linda University in San Bernardino, CA
- MacKensie Zahara, Chippewa Valley Technical College in Eau Claire, WI
- Nathan Towery, Calhoun Community College in North Tanner, AL
- AzJinay Pressley, College of Southern Nevada in Las Vegas, NV
- Veronica Herrera, American Career College in Anaheim, CA
- Amanda Miceli, Seattle Central Surgical Technology in Seattle, WA
- Lauren Kattman, Eastern Virginia Medical School in Norfolk, VA Master of Surgical Assisting
- Miriam Garcia, American Career College in Anaheim, CA
- Savette Stroud, Washtenaw Community College in Ann Arbor, MI
- Ryon Rich, South College in Indianapolis, IN
- Pollie King, Cabarrus College of Health Sciences in Concord, NC
- Naomi Richards, Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College in Bowling Green, KY
- Kristina Douglas, Aims Education College of Health in Piscataway, NJ
- Julianna Clarke, Anne Arundel Community College in Arnold, MD
- Chrissiana Harmon, Eastern Virginia Medical School in Norfolk, VA Master of Surgical Assisting

For more information, visit nbstsa.org.

###

About NBSTSA: The National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (NBSTSA) is a 501 (c) (6) organization responsible for all decisions regarding certification: from determining eligibility to maintaining, denying, granting and renewing the designation. Its mission is to be the gold standard provider of professional certification of surgical technologists (CST[®]) and surgical first assistants (CSFA[®]), supporting continuing education, thus promoting superior patient care in the surgical setting.